Swami Agnivesh attacked by mob in Jharkhand

Social activist Swami Agnivesh was punched, kicked and verbally abused by a mob Tuesday outside a hotel in Jharkhand’s Pakur district allegedly by BJP's youth wing Yuva Morcha according to news agency ANI. A day later, a top police officer confirmed that there have been no arrests till now, even though the attack is on camera. "It was a lynch mob. A mob of 100-150 people attacked me. I was pushed and I fell. I was on the ground, my clothes torn...they accused me of supporting gau maas (beef). They raised slogans of Jai Sri Ram. Abused me," Swami Agnivesh told NDTV.

Other Informations
Source of information News Report Place of incident Other :he was attacked just after leaving the hotel.
Number of victims 1 Identity of victim Celebrity / Social Activist
Location of incident Other perpetrator Religion Hindu
perpetrator Organizational Right Wing Hindutva Was cross FIR filed No
Details of the FIR

Police have also invoked Section 3 (II) of SC/ST (Prevention of Atrocities) Act. Swami Agnivesh has been provided security by the state government. Chief Minister Raghubar Das has asked the police to investigate the incide

Investigating agency State Police Victim's lawyer
Role of police Unsatisfactory :Lodged an FIR against but arrests have made yet, even though the whole incident is recorded on camera PFA Current status Under investigation
Charges Filed Other details 92 unnamed people, the eight persons named in the FIR are: Anand Tiwari, Pintu Mandal, Ashok Kumar (a ward Councillor), Prasanna Mishra (district BJYM Chief), Gopi Dubey, Balram Dubey, Shiv Kumar Saha and Badal Mandal.
judgement Reference other information
Civil society reports

User Pic
Main Information
Date of incident: July 17, 2018
Nature of Violence
  • Physical assault
  • Threat
  • Causal factors
  • Attack against work/ideology/activism of individual or group
  • Name of the victim : Swami Agnivesh
    Name of Perpetrator BJP Yuva Morcha
    State Jharkhand
    District/City Pakur
    Party In Power / Incidents BJP - Bharatiya Janata Party
    Media link