DOTO (Documentation Of The Oppressed) Database is a non-profit, documentation centre based in New Delhi, India. This database documents all verifiable incidents of Hate crimes against religious minorities 1 starting from 2014 which are reported in (i) English and Urdu media (both online and print) and (ii) Fact-finding and civil society reports. It is an easy-to-use model that seeks to make essential information accessible to all Academicians, Journalists and Activists working on the same issue.

DOTO Database Network & Partners:

  • Quill Foundation
  • Citizens Against Hate
  • Human Rights Defender Alerts(HRDA)-India
  • United Christian Forum
  • Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative(CHRI)
  • SIO India
  • United Against Hate
  • Jamiat Ulema e Hind
  • All India Muslim Majlis e Mushawrat

1The first Statutory National Commission was set up on 17th May 1993. Vide a Gazette notification issued on 23rd October 1993 by the Ministry of Welfare, Government of India, five religious communities viz; the Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists and Zoroastrians (Parsis) were notified as minority communities. Further, vide notified detail 27th Jan 2014, Jains have also been notified as a minority community. As per the 2011 Census, these six religious minority communities constitute 19.4% of the country’s population.

The Team

The DOTO project has two independent teams dedicated for the task: The executive team and the editorial group.

Executive Team is a set of young lawyers, criminologists and social workers dedicated to the task of documenting hate violence. The team establishes the on-ground networks, trains community persons, conducts fact findings, verifies information and undertakes selective advocacy.

  • Faraz Akhtar
  • Arpita Jaya
  • Fawaz Shaheen
  • Saima Anjum

Editorial Group is a set of senior media persons and academics who have the final say on the cases. The executive team verifies the information and passes it on to the editors. The editors take a call on the journalistic quality of the cases and send it back to the executive team. The editorial group is being constituted. Those who would like to be a part of this team, please write to us as


  • Aneesa Firdous (Jamia Millia Islamia)
  • Puhumi Aditya (Jamia Millia Islamia)
  • Saud Khalid (Jamia Millia Islamia)
  • Ebad ur Rahman (ICFAI Hyderabad)
  • Shoaib Khan (Jamia Millia Islamia)
  • Muskan Sehgal (Delhi University)