Attack on mosque by miscreants as lights were on

5 April 2020: Prime Minister Narendra Modi had asked people of the country to shut off their lights for nine minutes at 9 pm on Sunday 5th April 2020 and light candles instead. A mob of men allegedly attacked two mosques in Belagavi district. Two separate cases have been registered in the district in connection with the attacks. Belagavi police say that the mosques were attacked by miscreants as the lights were on at 9 pm, 5 April 2020. The men allegedly barged into the mosque and heckled the imam, who was cleaning up the space. Nine people were arrested by the Yamkanmardi Police. “These men attacked the mosque and tried to shut it down. They kept saying that the whole country is switching off the lights and lighting candles and that members in the mosque too must follow the same. They have been arrested now,” the Yamkanmardi Police said. Meanwhile, the Sadalaga Police arrested 13 people for allegedly attacking another mosque in the area. The men allegedly barged into the mosque and demanded that the lights be turned off.

Other Informations
Source of information News Report Place of incident Place of worship
Number of victims 1 Identity of victim Muslims
Location of incident Place of worship Was cross FIR filed 0
perpetrator Organizational Other Details of the FIR

All 22 men in connection with the two cases have been booked under sections 153A (Acts prejudicial to the maintenance of harmony between different groups), 295A (malicious acts intended to outrage the religious feelings) o

Investigating agency State Police Victim's lawyer
Role of police Satisfactory Current status Under investigation
Charges Filed Other details
judgement Reference other information
Civil society reports

User Pic
Main Information
Date of incident: April 05, 2020
Nature of Violence
  • Attack on religious festivals/worship
  • Physical assault
  • Vandalism/Hooliganism
  • Causal factors
  • Religious identity
  • No. of People Injured 1
    Name of the victim : Imam of local mosque
    Name of Perpetrator 22 locals
    State Karnataka
    District/City Belgaum
    Party In Power / Incidents BJP - Bharatiya Janata Party
    Media link